Reading Time: 2 minutes


The European Esports Championships, hosted by the European Esports Federation (EEF) and the International Esports Federation (IESF), concluded the Tekken 7 competition in Baku, Azerbaijan. Italy was crowned the overall winner and has secured a coveted spot at IESF’s World Esports Championships Finals.

Players from 18 countries went head-to-head in Tekken 7 at Crystal Hall Arena in the Azerbaijan capital for a grand prize of $5000, but it was Italy who came out on top. Hg Esports athlete Carlo Vinci was awarded the title of European Tekken 7 champion on the Baku stage. Italy was down 3:0 to Georgia and Vinci helped lead his country to a 3:4 comeback victory. Georgia, Hungary and Poland finished in second, third and fourth place, respectively.

ESF President Vlad Marinescu spoke at the Awarding Ceremony and said: “Congratulations to Europe’s greatest players for their incredible performances at our first regional qualifier. They represented their countries with pride and the winning nations are bringing home a medal. Italy had a triumphant victory and we can’t wait to see what they have in store at the World Esports Championships in Bali later this year. I also want to once again thank everyone in Baku for being an amazing host city and welcoming the World Esports Family with open arms.”

At the Awarding Ceremony, President Marinescu gave out medals to the top four winning nations as their national anthems and flags were presented. Marinescu also presented commemorative plaques to Azerbaijan President Ilham Aliyev, Azerbaijan Minister of Youth and Sports Farid Gayibov and Azerbaijan Esports Federation President Ramil Aliyev. The Azerbaijan Esports Federation was also presented with a certificate of full membership for IESF.

IESF’s next regional qualifier will be the CS:GO European Championships in Oradea, Romania from July 5 to 10. The European Championships will continue throughout the summer with upcoming competitions in eFootball, Dota 2, PUBG and Mobile Legends: Bang Bang in Podgorica, Montenegro, and Tirana, Albania, respectively. The Championships feature a total prize pool of $80,000.

Powered by WPeMatico